Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Buck Research Collections Finding Aids
The W. Aubrey and Corrie Funai Chenault Collection
This manuscript and typescript collection consists of approximately thirty-five pieces, totaling over 2,500 pages, with many hundreds of words added by Pearl S. Buck. It includes novels, short stories, magazine articles, plays, and other materials.
The Jane Rabb Collection
This collection, donated by scholar Jane M. Rabb (also known as Jane Rabb Cohen), reflects her research leading to the entry on Pearl S. Buck in the reference work Notable American Women: The Modern Period (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1980) and to a possible biographical or critical study that was never completed. The collection includes photocopies of numerous letters from Pearl S. Buck, housed in several different libraries, and more than forty audiotapes of interviews with individuals personally acquainted with Buck, as well as Rabb's correspondence with Buck friends, acquaintances, and business associates.
The Warren Sherk Collection
Dr. Warren A. Sherk, an Asian Studies scholar, served in the 1940's as national Field Secretary for the East and West Association, founded by Pearl S. Buck and her husband Richard J. Walsh. He became a lifelong admirer of the author and in 1992, the centennial of her birth, he published a study of her life and work entitled Pearl S. Buck: Good Earth Mother. His materials on Buck were donated to the Lipscomb Library by his widow, Jean Sherk, after his death.
The Nora Stirling Collection
The Nora B. Stirling Collection consists of the materials used by the donor in writing the biography, Pearl Buck: A Woman in Conflict, published by New Century Publishers in 1983. Included are drafts of the book, copies of interviews with those who knew Pearl S. Buck at various times in her life, copies of letters from Buck, members of her family, friends and acquaintances, several of her books annotated by Nora Stirling, and a large number of other sources of information on her life and work. Original letters in the Collection have been placed in the Rare Book Room and replaced in the Stirling Collection by photocopies.
Pearl S. Buck Letters: (A to M)
Letters written by Pearl S. Buck, sorted by recipient name, A - M
Pearl S. Buck Letters (N to Z)
Letters written by Pearl S. Buck, sorted by recipient name, N - Z
Letters to Pearl S. Buck
Letters written to Pearl S. Buck
Emma Edmunds White Collection
Letters written by Pearl S. Buck and sent to one of her closest college friends, Emma Edmunds White. Letters date between 1911 and 1972.
Buck Online Resources
Resources on Pearl S. Buck at other Libraries and Museums
West Virginia University
The West Virginia & Regional History Center houses the largest collection of original manuscripts to Buck's literary works in all forms, which are owned by the Pearl S. Buck Birthplace Foundation
Princeton University Library
Consists of correspondence and legal documents relating to Buck's publishing activities from 1928 to the early 1950s, when she was a client of the David Lloyd Literary Agency
The collection contains letters written by Pearl Buck, her passport from 1967, articles written by or about Pearl Buck, movie lobby cards and other movie memorabilia relating to Pearl Buck books, photographs, and Pearl Buck memorabilia, such as First Day Covers and figurines
West Virginia State Archives Library
A list of books and newspaper articles which can be found at the West Virginia State Archives and History Library
Pearl S. Buck Birthplace Museum
Located in the heart of the Appalachian Mountains, the Pearl S. Buck Birthplace Museum showcases the home in which the Nobel and Pulitzer Prize-winning author was born in 1892
Pearl S. Buck International
Pearl S. Buck International carries on Pearl S. Buck’s legacy of bridging cultures and changing lives through humanitarian aid, intercultural education, and historical tours of the Pearl S. Buck House, a National Historic Landmark
Buck Collections at the Digital Public Library of America
An aggregated collection of digitized items on Pearl S. Buck from libraries throughout the United States
National Portrait Gallery
Photographs, paintings, and drawings in the permanent collection at the National Portrait Gallery