Lipscomb Library: History: Home

Search for Books

Search for books by title, author, or subject in our library catalog

Or, use WorldCat to see what books are available in any library. With Interlibrary Loan, you can order books from other libraries

Reference Books

Dictionary of Historic Documents

Women in World History

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

Related Guides

Citation Resources

Citation Help Guide - Information, tips, and examples of different citations styles

Zotero - A free citation-management tool that keeps sources organized and generates in-text citations and bibliographies

Research Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that covers research across all academic fields

Google Scholar
A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines

Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text ebooks, journals, primary source documents (including speeches, letters, and interviews), historical documents, and videos from the Associated Press for researching the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of multiple ethnic groups in America.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Research literature from humanities-based publications
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Topic-based research support promoting the understanding of an economic, political, or historic topic by combining the latest news with key context and background
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering research across fields, with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy

E-Books

ACLS Humanites E-Book This link opens in a new window
ebook collection from the American Council of Learned Societies
eBook History Collection This link opens in a new window
ebooks covering the history of many disciplines in the humanities from EBSCOhost

Video

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Select "My Content," then "My Institution's Content" to access hundreds of academic videos about American history and culture
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
A subset of Films on Demand, this package highlights archival films and newsreels.
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-length educational films and video segments on a wide range of topics
Kanopy BASE This link opens in a new window
Kanopy BASE is a multidisciplinary collection of over 10,000 titles supporting arts and the humanities, as well as STEM. Please be aware that not all of the content comes with public performance rights.

Primary Source Collections

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images from world art, architecture, and visual culture

ArchiveGrid
Search archival collections by subject and location
British National Archives
Lists records and provides some digital access to archival materials from the UK

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full access to America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Digitized primary source collections from libraries across the United States. Thousands of images, films, primary documents, and other materials
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digitized collections from a global partnership of research institutions and libraries
Internet Archive
Formerly the Wayback Machine, Internet Archive is "a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
"Public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly," via Fordham University
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records
Indexes and provides some images of historical records from Japanese history
Library of Congress
The nation's oldest federal cultural institution, which includes thousands of digitized primary sources
Lipscomb Library Primary Source Guide
Lipscomb Library's guide to primary source collections and databases

National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
National Geographic Magazine Archive from 1888 to 1994

Virginia Chronicle
Virginia Chronicle is a historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full-text searching and digitized images of over 3 million newspaper pages.
Virginia Memory
The Library of Virginia's collections of print materials, manuscripts, archival records, newspapers, photographs and ephemera, maps and atlases, rare books, and fine art that tell the history of the commonwealth and its people

The following 18th and 19th century periodical collections are provided by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS)

AAS Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888 This link opens in a new window
AAS American Civil War, 1855-1868 This link opens in a new window
AAS American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834 This link opens in a new window
AAS American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858 This link opens in a new window
AAS American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891 This link opens in a new window
AAS American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884 This link opens in a new window
AAS American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891 This link opens in a new window
AAS Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877 This link opens in a new window
AAS Current Events and History Periodicals,1691-1912 This link opens in a new window
AAS Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877 This link opens in a new window
AAS Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877 This link opens in a new window
AAS Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879 This link opens in a new window
AAS Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880 This link opens in a new window
AAS Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881 This link opens in a new window
AAS Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879 This link opens in a new window
AAS Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887 This link opens in a new window
AAS Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877 This link opens in a new window
AAS Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844 This link opens in a new window
AAS Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865 This link opens in a new window
AAS Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891 This link opens in a new window

Research & Instruction Librarian

Kelsey Molseed

Email Me

History: Home

History Research Guide