Lipscomb Library: American Culture: American Culture Research Guide

Search for Books

Search for books by title, author, or subject in our library catalog

Or, use WorldCat to see what books are available in any library. With Interlibrary Loan, you can order books from other libraries

Citation Help Guide - Information, tips, and examples of different citations styles

Zotero - A free citation-management tool that keeps sources organized and generates in-text citations and bibliographies

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that covers research across all academic fields
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text ebooks, journals, primary source documents (including speeches, letters, and interviews), historical documents, and videos from the Associated Press for researching the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of multiple ethnic groups in America.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Exploring Race in Society contains scholarly journals and proprietary essays that provide researchers with a deeper understanding of how current issues stem from actions and policies of the past.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Research literature from humanities-based publications
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering research across fields, with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences

Google Scholar
A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines

American Memory
Access to the American Memory collections of the Library of Congress, including written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images from world art, architecture, and visual culture; now integrated into JSTOR
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full access to America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Digitized primary source collections from libraries across the United States. Thousands of images, films, primary documents, and other materials
Lipscomb Library Primary Source Guide
Lipscomb Library's guide to primary source collections and databases
Virginia Memory
The Library of Virginia's collections of print materials, manuscripts, archival records, newspapers, photographs and ephemera, maps and atlases, rare books, and fine art that tell the history of the commonwealth and its people

Alexander Street (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street (formerly Academic Videos Online or AVON) includes over 72,000 titles spanning a wide range of interdisciplinary subject areas. Included within this product is a set of over 2,000 videos to support student success in areas such as stress management, college life, communication, and success in math.

Encyclopedia Virginia
Explores the people, history, government, economy, and culture of Virginia

Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-length educational films and video segments on a wide range of topics
Kanopy BASE This link opens in a new window
Kanopy BASE is a multidisciplinary collection of over 10,000 titles supporting arts and the humanities, as well as STEM. Please be aware that not all of the content comes with public performance rights.

Pew Research Center
Current research on United States public opinion
ProCon.org
Offered by Britannica, ProCon.org provides non-biased pros and cons of debatable issues and relevant reference information, thoroughly researched and compiled by research staff and editors.
United States Census Bureau
leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy